Lau Islands Vacation Guide

The Lau Group of Islands is situated on the far east of the Fiji Islands group, and in fact many of the island are closer to Tonga than Viti Levu the main island of Fiji. There are as many as one hundred islands and small atolls in the group, sparsely scattered over 188 square miles of the South Pacific Ocean (487 square km). There are two distinct groups – northern Lau and southern Lau (also called the Yagasa cluster). The higher elevated islands in the northern Lau are primarily of volcanic in origin, whereas those in the southern Lau are mostly low-level and carbonate origin.

Pristine Scuba Diving

This region is Fiji’s last region to be really exploited as a tourist destination. Exploring the islands can be difficult as only the islands of Lakeba, Vanua Balavu and Kaimbu have accommodation and except for a small airstrip at Vanua Balavu, travelling around the islands must be achieved by boat. The Lau group has some of the most pristine scuba diving in Fiji, with most dive sites only being accessed by liveaboards.

Some interesting facts about the Lau Group of Islands. One-third of the land area (i.e. 154 sq km) is taken up by the three islands of Moala, Lakeba and Vanuabalavu.

  • Moala – largest island (62sq km)
  • Lakeba – second largest (58.9 sq km)
  • Vanuabalavu – third largest (53.0 sq km)
  • The 26 acre island of Yanuyanu is the home of Lomaloma Resort, formerly the private retreat of Fiji’s President Ratu Sir Kamisese Mara.
  • Cicia – (34.0 sq km)
  • Kabara – (31.0 sq km)
  • Totoya – (28 sq km)
  • Fulaga – (18.5 sq km)
  • The majority of the 60-odd islands that make up the group are very small.
About the author

Fiji Islands Staff Writer